skip to Main Content
How To Use Love Languages To Strengthen Your Relationship

How To Use Love Languages To Strengthen Your Relationship

The first book outlining the 5 Love Languages was published in the early 90’s. To this day, psychologists and marriage counselors use the foundation of this knowledge to help people better understand their relationships. The core concept is that we all have preferences to how we give and receive love. Often, these inclinations play a big role in the success (or demise) of our romantic relationships.

What Are The 5 Love Languages?

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Gifts
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch

Why Love Languages Matter

Many people benefit from identifying their love language. This is because, we are happiest in relationships when our partners and our love language are complementary and can feel frustrated when they are contrasting. Of course, you can still have meaningful relationships with someone who gives and receives love differently than you. It just means you need to make the extra effort to learn and express your partners love language. The best way to learn about your partner’s love language is to have an open and honest conversation about when they feel most loved. You can start by reading them this blog entry. Then, take the (free) test designed specifically for couples.

How To Apply Love Languages To Your Relationship

Knowing your partners love language is one thing, applying this knowledge to everyday interactions can be a lot more challenging. Here are some examples of ways you can convey each love language. Express words of affirmation by complimenting your partner, or having a meaningful conversation about why you appreciate them. Quality time can be achieved by scheduling a date night, or creating rituals such as talking walks together after work. Gifts can be anything from a book you read that made you think of your partner, to the last cookie left in the package. To express acts of service you can do simple tasks like brewing a pot coffee in the morning or putting on a load of laundry when the basket gets full. Physical touch can be demonstrated by giving a hug or kiss when you leave the house, or holding hands when walking with your partner.


Disclaimer: The content provided in the blog posts of Jones Divorce & Family Law is general information and should not be considered legal advice. Please contact a lawyer for legal advice tailored to your specific situation. All articles are current as of their original publication date.